National Food Security Act (NFSA)

Date : 17/12/2018 - 22/06/2019 | Sector: Food Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs

The National Food Security Act, 2013 (also Right to Food Act) is an Act of the Parliament of India which aims to provide subsidized food grains to approximately two thirds of India’s 1.2 billion people. It was signed into law on 12 September 2013, retroactive to 5 July 2013.

The National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA 2013) converts into legal entitlements for existing food security programmes of the Government of India. It includes the Midday Meal Scheme, Integrated Child Development Services scheme and the Public Distribution System. Further, the NFSA 2013 recognizes maternity entitlements. The Midday Meal Scheme and the Integrated Child Development Services Scheme are universal in nature whereas the PDS will reach about two-thirds of the population (75% in rural areas and 50% in urban areas).

Under the provisions of the bill, beneficiaries of the Public Distribution System (or, PDS) are entitled to 5 kilograms (11 lb) per person per month of cereals at the following prices:

Rice at ₹3 per kg
Wheat at ₹2 per kg
Coarse grains (millet) at ₹1 per kg.
Pregnant women, lactating mothers, and certain categories of children are eligible for daily free cereals.

The bill has been highly controversial. It was introduced into India’s parliament on 22 December 2011, promulgated as a presidential ordinance on 5 July 2013, and enacted into law on 12 September 2013.

For further information please visit NFSA


Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) households and households identified eligible by the States/UTs


Food and nutritional security. Pregnant women and lactating mothers will also be entitled to receive maternity monetary benefit.

How To Apply

Within the coverage under TPDS determined for each State, the work of identification of eligible households is to be done by States/UTs.