National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

Date : 24/06/2017 - 03/04/2019 | Sector: Social Welfare

The National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme of the Government of India that provides financial assistance to the elderly, widows and persons with disabilities in the form of social pensions. 

The National Assistance Program consists of five sub-schemes:

Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS):
The Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS) is a non-contributory old age pension scheme that covers Indians who are 60 years and above and live below the poverty line. All individuals above the age of 60 who live below the poverty line are eligible to apply for IGNOAPS. All IGNOAPS beneficiaries aged 60–79 receive a monthly pension of Rs. 300 (Rs. 200 by central government and Rs. 100 by state government). Those 80 years and above receive a monthly pension amount of Rs. 500. States are strongly urged to provide an additional amount at least an equivalent amount to the assistance provided by the Central Government so that the beneficiaries can get a decent level of assistance.

Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS):
Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme(IGNWPS), introduced in the year 2009, provides BPL (Below Poverty Line) widows in the age group 40 to 64(later revised 40 to 59) with a monthly pension of Rs. 200 per beneficiary. After they attain the age of 60, they qualify for pension under Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme(IGNOAPS). They should get upto 2000. This programme was started in 2007 under the ministry for rural development.

Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS):
Eligibility: Individuals aged 18 years and above with more than 80% disability and living below the poverty line.

Amount: ₹300 (US$4.20) per month (₹500 (US$7.00) for those 80 years and above).

National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS):
In the event of death of a bread-winner in a household, the bereaved family will receive lumpsum assistance of 20,000. The bread-winner should have been between 18–64 years of age. The assistance would be provided in every case of death of primary bread-winner in a household.

Annapurna Scheme:
This scheme aims to provide food security to meet the requirement of those senior citizens who, though eligible, have remained uncovered under the IGNOAPS. Under the Annapurna Scheme, 10 kg of free rice is provided every month to each beneficiary.

For more information please visit NSAP


Those aged 60 years and above, differently abled, widows and families who lost their bread earner.


Financial Assistance in the form of pension and immediate financial assistance during unfortunate and tragic events.

How To Apply

Through Village Authorities and the Office of the Block Development Officer.